Photo by Jim McCue of the Maryland Jockey Club

Congratulations to 2013 Black-Eyed Susan Stakes winner Fiftyshadesofhay, jockey Joel Rosario, trainer Bob Baffert, and owners Karl Watson, Michael Pegram & Paul Weitman.

One of Pimlico's oldest stakes races, the Black-Eyed Susan was first run at Pimlico in 1919 as the Pimlico Oaks. The name was changed in 1952 to complement the Preakness and to acknowledge the Maryland state flower. The mile and one-eighth test, for three-year-old fillies is traditionally run the Friday before the Preakness. The race was first graded in 1973 and has been a Grade II event since 1976. The Black-Eyed Susan has long been recognized as the middle jewel of the traditional filly Triple Crown, which also includes the Kentucky Oaks Stakes (at Churchill Downs) and the Acorn Stakes (at Belmont Park). Only three fillies: Wistful (1949), Real Delight (1952), and Davona Dale (1979), all owned and bred by the illustrious Calumet Farm, have ever accomplished this feat. 

It was a thrilling 89th running of the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes - GII as Fiftyshadesofhay with jockey Joel Rosario comes from behind and crosses the finish line with a narrow margin. Click here to watch the 2013 race excitement on YouTube. 

Black-Eyed Susan results

The $50,000 Jockey's Challenge, presented by Xpress Bet, will feature active Hall of Fame riders. The seven jockeys have combined to win more than 44,000 races with earnings of $1.6 billion through March 11.

Gary Stevens (1997 Hall of Fame inductee), Russell Baze (1999), Mike Smith (2003), Kent Desormeaux (2004), Edgar Prado (2008), John Velazquez (2012) and Calvin Borel (2013) will compete in four races with points awarded based upon their finish.

 “Throughout the years we have had many formats for the Jockey Challenge and getting the active Hall of Famers is a coup,” Chuckas said. “As an added bonus, Russell Baze, who has more than 50,000 career mounts, has never ridden at Pimlico. That will be fun.”

The jockey with the most points at the end of a four-race competition will be crowned champion. Riding assignments are determined by a drawing Sunday, May 11, and jockeys receive points for finishing first (12 points), second (6), third (4) and fourth (3) in each race. The champion jockey will earn $20,000. Other prize money: $12,000 (second), $8,000 (third), $6,000 (fourth), $2,000 (fifth) and $1,000 (sixth and seventh).

Lady Legends 2013

Now in its fifth year, the Lady Legends For the Cure Race™ was the first ever pari-mutuel race showcasing retired female riders.

Mary Russ-Tortora will not be back to defend her title but four of the original riders return: Patti Cooksey, Jennifer Rowland-Small, Barbara Jo Rubin and Cheryl White. Abby Fuller, Andrea Seefeldt-Knight and Stacie Clark-Rogers are also veterans of the event.

Tami Purcell-Burkland is the new shooter. The Texas native is the only female jockey to win the All American Futurity (G1) Quarter Horse race.

Photo:   2013 Lady Legends for the Cure IV riders: Stacie Clark-Rogers, Abby Fuller, Patti "PJ" Cooksey, Zoe Cadman, Barbara Jo Rubin, Jennifer Rowland-Small, Mary Russ-Tortora, and Cheryl White.

Photo by Jim McCue of the Maryland Jockey Club

Congratulations to Last Gunfighter, jockey Javier Castellano, trainer Chad Brown, and owner John D. Gunther.

The Pimlico Special used to be just that – special. Few American races for older horses can boast such an entertaining history. The Seabiscuit-War Admiral match race. The Citation walkover. The showdown between older champ Stymie and Triple Crown winner Assault. Ancient history, granted, played out in black and white, all grainy, with the men wearing hats and smoking Chesterfields. Then came living color, and the Special glowed, helping make the case for Horse of the Year when it was won by Criminal Type, Cigar, Skip Away, Mineshaft, and Invasor. 

In 2013, Last Gunfighter was guided to the win in the 43rd running of the Pimlico Special - GIII by jockey Javier Castellano. Click here to watch the race on YouTube.